Pilipino American Unity for Progress (UniPro) are deeply heartbroken and infuriated by the mass shooting that took place on March 16th, 2020 in Atlanta, GA. 6 of the 8 victims were identified as Asian / Asian American women. All but 1 of the victims were female. In the wake of the mass shooting, we are left to grieve and reflect about the trauma and violence against women and the victimization of sex workers that is fueled by a long history of systemic racism and white supremacy in the United States.

UniPro Chicago, a chapter of UniPro, is a member of the Chicago community. In the current climate, we are grappling with the tragedy and impact of violence against the Asian / Asian American communities. As Filipino/a/x Americans, we stand with the Asian / Asian American communities. Within our own conversations and dialogue as an organization, there is much information that continues to be processed with areas for learning and education to be had.

We plan to have at least 4 breakout rooms, which will provide space for people in different stages of processing. Breakout room topics are subject to change depending upon the needs of the group
• Open Space: For Healing, Reflection, & Affirmation
• Asian Invisibility, Allyship and Solidarity
• Centering Asian Women and Intersections of Race, Gender, Sexuality, Labor, and History
• Navigating Conversations in the Workplace

To have better conversations about the issues and topics at hand, UniPro Chicago is having an emergency town hall on Saturday, March 20th, at 7:00PM CST (5:00PM PST, 6:00PM MST, 8:00PM EST).

Please do not hesitate to share, promote, or forward this event to any individuals or organizations!!
For any further information or inquiries, please e-mail chicagostaff@unipronow.org

More Info (External Link)
Posted 
April 17, 2021
 in 
Community

More from 

Community

View All

Join Our Newsletter and Get the Latest
and Greatest on Asian American Communities

Stay in the loop. No spam ever. Read our Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.