You are invited to attend the investiture for The Honorable Rena Marie Van Tine as a Circuit Court Judge on Friday, February 19th, 2021 at 2:00 p.m. as it is live-streamed from the Illinois Supreme Court. Justice P. Scott Neville Jr. will administer the oath.

The Illinois Supreme Court entered an order on February 2, 2021 appointing Associate Judge Rena Marie Van Tine to an at-large position on the Circuit Court of Cook County.

Judge Van Tine, a lawyer with 35 years of legal experience, is the first female Indian American judge in the nation to serve on state court. She was appointed as an Associate Judge 20 years ago. Today, she will be sworn in as a Circuit Court Judge by Justice P. Scott Neville, Jr.

Judge Van Tine is an experienced jurist who has presided over 60 jury trials during her three years in the Law Division, and has presided over hundreds of bench trials during her 17 years in the Child Protection Division of Juvenile Court.

Although she has been a judge for 20 years, she served the public as an Assistant State's Attorney for 12 years and was also Special Counsel to Illinois State Comptroller Daniel W. Hynes for two years.

Judge Van Tine has been a leader in the legal community in Cook County. She is a past President of the Asian American Bar Association of Illinois and a co-founding Executive Committee member for the Alliance of Bar Associations. She has also worked long hours with many community organizations.

As a result of her dedication to fairness, justice and the rule of law, Judge Van Tine has received numerous awards and appointments from various bar associations and community groups.

Judge Van Tine has served on the board of the Women's Bar Association of Illinois and will receive its Mary Heftel Hooten Award during its March 5, 2021 judicial reception.

		Investiture of Judge				   Rena Marie Van Tine image

Speakers include:

Kristen Marie Van Tine

Mistress of Ceremonies

The Honorable Judge Timothy C. Evans

Chief Judge of the Circuit Court of Cook County

Aurora Austriaco

Valentine Austriaco & Bueschel

Chicago Bar Association, Past President

American Bar Association, State Delegate

Women in Law Honoree 2020, Chicago Lawyer

Patricia Brown Holmes

Riley Safer Holmes & Cancila

Chicago Bar Association, Past President

Black Women Lawyers’ Association, Past President

Larry Rogers Jr.

Power Rogers, LLP

President, Illinois Trial Lawyers Association

Cook County Bar Association, Past President

Commissioner, Cook County Board of Review

The Honorable Justice Michael B. Hyman

President, Jewish Judges Association of Illinois,

Illinois Judges Association, Past President

Chicago Bar Association, Past President

Decalogue Society of Lawyers, Past President

The Honorable Judge Thaddeus L. Wilson

Supervising Judge, Criminal Division

President, Illinois Judicial Council

The Honorable Judge Anjana Hansen

Circuit Court Judge, Second Municipal District

President, Asian American Judges Association of Illinois

The Honorable Judge Sanjay T. Tailor

Presiding Judge of the County Division,

Past President, The Lawyers Club,

Past President, Apna Ghar,

Special Video Messages by:

Dick Durbin

U.S. Senator

Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi

U.S. Representative for the 8th Congressional District

Kathryn L. Conway

Power Rogers LLP

President, Women’s Bar Association of Illinois

The Honorable Judge Mary C. Roberts

Law Division

Alliance of Illinois Judges, Past President

Illinois Judges Association, Secretary

J. Timothy Eaton

2020 Person of the Year, Chicago Lawyer

Illinois State Bar Association, Past President

Chicago Bar Association, Past President

Appellate Lawyers Association, Past President

P. Scott Neville, Jr., Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court will administer the oath to Rena Marie Van Tine

More guest speakers to be announced

More Info (External Link)
May 9, 2021

More from 


View All

Join Our Newsletter and Get the Latest
and Greatest on Asian American Communities

Stay in the loop. No spam ever. Read our Privacy Policy
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.